PMA Films

PMA Films

Iranian director Jafar Panahi’s fourth completed feature since he was officially banned from filmmaking is one of his very best. Panahi begins with a smartphone video shot by a young woman (Marziyeh Rezaei) who announces to the camera that her parents have forbidden her from realizing her dream of acting and then, by all appearances, takes her own life. The recipient of the video, Behnaz Jafari, as herself, asks Panahi, as himself, to drive her to the woman’s tiny home village near the Turkish border to investigate. From there, 3 Faces builds in narrative, thematic, and visual intricacy to put forth a grand expression of community and solidarity under the eye of oppression. – New York Film Festival

Not Rated
Show Times
  • Friday, April 19, 2019 - 2:00pm
  • Friday, April 19, 2019 - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, April 20, 2019 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, April 21, 2019 - 2:00pm
  • Thursday, April 25, 2019 - 2:00pm
Tickets

From screenings inspired by PMA exhibitions to new work by local and emerging talent to conversations with filmmakers, documentary subjects, and scholars, PMA Films offers cinematic experiences that you can’t find anywhere else.

Sponsor:

              

Media sponsor:

Upcoming

Not Rated

In Christian Petzold’s brilliant and haunting modern-day adaptation of Anna Seghers’s 1942 novel, Transit Visa, Georg, a German refugee (Franz Rogowski, Happy End), flees to Marseille assuming the identity of a recently deceased writer whose papers he is carrying. There he delves into the delicate and complex culture of the refugee community, becoming enmeshed in the lives of a young mother and son and falling for a mysterious woman named Marie (Paula Beer, Frantz).

Show Times
  • Friday, May 3, 2019 - 2:00pm
  • Friday, May 3, 2019 - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, May 4, 2019 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, May 5, 2019 - 2:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 8, 2019 - 2:00pm
Not Rated

Bursting with the colorful street style & music of Nairobi’s vibrant youth culture, RAFIKI is a tender love story between two young women in a country that still criminalizes homosexuality.

Show Times
  • Friday, May 10, 2019 - 2:00pm
  • Friday, May 10, 2019 - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, May 11, 2019 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, May 12, 2019 - 2:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 15, 2019 - 2:00pm
Rated R

When media-savvy members of the Satanic Temple organize a series of public actions designed to advocate for religious freedom and challenge corrupt authority, they prove that with little more than a clever idea, a mischievous sense of humor, and a few rebellious friends, you can speak truth to power in some truly profound ways.

Show Times
  • Friday, May 17, 2019 - 3:00pm
  • Friday, May 17, 2019 - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, May 18, 2019 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, May 19, 2019 - 2:00pm