The PMA Store is open during regular museum hours.
Monday through Thursday, Saturdays, and Sundays: 10am - 5pm
Fridays: 10am - 9pm
Third Thursdays: 10am - 9pm
Winslow Homer first discovered Prouts Neck, Maine, with his parents and two brothers in 1875. The family fell in love with the natural beauty of this small seaside community and began purchasing property and spending summers in Maine in the early 1880s. When Winslow Homer decided to relocate permanently from New York City, where he had lived for more than 20 years, to Prouts Neck, he hired John Calvin Stevens, a Portland architect and leading proponent of the Shingle Style, to convert a carriage house into his residence and studio. Perched on the rocky coast and commanding panoramic vistas of the Atlantic ocean, this 1,500-squre-foot structure served as Homer’s primarily residence and workspace from 1884 until his 1910 death. From the Studio’s second-story balcony and from daily walks along the shore, Homer drew inspiration for his celebrated late marine paintings from the crashing surf and ever-changing weather along the Maine coast.
Declared a National Landmark in 1966, the Winslow Homer Studio was purchased by the PMA in 2006 and underwent a monumental restoration project. The Studio is now open to guided tours, which celebrate the artist's life, encourage scholarship on Homer, and offer the opportunity to get in touch with Maine’s cultural and natural heritage. On the tours, visitors have the unique opportunity to experience the spaces in which Homer lived and worked, and witness the ever-changing natural drama that inspired some of his greatest works of art.
Visitors to the Winslow Homer Studio are guided through the property as they learn about the artistic heritage of Winslow Homer and Maine. Tours celebrate the artist's life, encourage scholarship on Homer, and educate audiences in some of the lesser known facts about the artist. The Studio is filled with various types of Homer ephemera, including furniture, artwork, and photographs. Guests leave the Studio not only with a fuller appreciation of Homer the artist, but a deeper understanding of Homer the man—how he saw the world, lived his life, and found his inspiration.
The PMA purchased the Studio from Charles Homer Willauer, the great grand-nephew of Winslow Homer, in 2006.
The Studio is 2,200 square feet, 44 ft. x 53 ft., and two stories high.
The house to the right of the Studio is the called the “Ark” and was previously owned by Homer’s brother Charles. The Homer family lived there during the summer months.
The building was moved 100 feet away from the “Ark” and converted from a carriage house to living quarters in 1883 by architect John Calvin Stevens and his brother-in-law Howard Stevens, of the Portland firm Fassett and Stevens.
The porch or “piazza” and a pergola were added for Homer and a painting room was added in 1890. A kitchen was added after Homer’s death in the 1930s (recently removed).
Prouts Neck, located in Scarborough, Maine, 12 miles from the Portland Museum of Art, is a private enclave and summer colony with large shingle-style summer cottages passed down in families for generations. The Neck is 1,500 acres or 2.34 square miles.
Winslow Homer first visited Prouts Neck in 1875 when his brother Arthur was honeymooning at a hotel there.
Homer’s oldest brother, Charles, decided to move to Prouts Neck in 1883, buying almost the whole Neck with the hopes of bringing the entire Homer family there and subdividing the property to create a summer resort
There were approximately five to eight hotels at the time that Homer lived there. There is only one hotel there now, The Black Point Inn.